Amok is the debut album by the band Atoms for Peace, released on February 25, 2013 through XL Recordings.[1][2] The album features Radiohead singer Thom Yorke (vocals, guitar, keyboards and programming), Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea (bass), longtime Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich (production and programming), Joey Waronker of Beck and R.E.M. (drums), and Mauro Refosco (percussion).

Atoms for Peace formed in 2009 to perform songs from Thom Yorke's 2006 album The Eraser. After the tour ended in 2010, the band spent three days jamming and recording original material in a Los Angeles studio. Describing his role in the sessions as "conducting", Yorke would show the band electronic music he had created and they would recreate it with live instruments. He said: "The music I do on my laptop is so angular. When you get people to play like that, it's so peculiar. Most of it, technically speaking, they can play. But there were times when we used the electronic sounds, because it was more brittle, more exciting ... One of the things we were most excited about was ending up with a record where you weren't quite sure where the human starts and the machine ends." Yorke and producer Nigel Godrich edited and arranged the recordings from the sessions over the course of two years.

The first single, "Default", was released as a download on September 10, 2012. The second single, "Judge, Jury and Executioner", was released as a download on January 7, 2013 and will be released on vinyl on March 19, 2013. On February 18, 2013, the album was made available via streaming from the official Atoms for Peace website. 

A music video for "Ingenue" was released on February 28, 2013. It was directed and choreographed by Garth Jennings and Wayne McGregor respectively, who had previously created the video for the Radiohead song "Lotus Flower" (2011).

The tracklist:

1. "Before Your Very Eyes..." 5:47 
2. "Default" 5:15 
3. "Ingenue" 4:30 
4. "Dropped" 4:57 
5. "Unless" 4:40
6. "Stuck Together Pieces" 5:28 
7. "Judge, Jury and Executioner" 3:28
8. "Reverse Running" 5:06 
9. "Amok"

Available to buy on-line on Amok´s webshop or itunes.

No comments:

Post a Comment